KCCC, Here I Come!

May 8, 2011

Bicycling

If you follow my Twitter stream, then you already know that I will be competing in the Kansas City Corporate Challenge (KCCC) bike race.  I hesitate to predict how well (or poorly) that I will do.  But I will be in the race.  And I am so pumped about it.

Since the start of the year, I’ve logged about 2000 miles of bicycle commuting.  I’ve also lost over thirty-five pounds of dead weight.  I’m not at my ideal weight yet.  But I am in better shape than I’ve been for almost five years. And I’ve been training on “Black Beauty” (my Surly Long Haul trucker).

Black Beauty is a delicious beast.  But she is a Clydesdale built for a Clydesdale.  While I am making excellent progress towards my goals, she is not what I need for KCCC.  I need light weight and sheer pedal power.  So I’ve spent some time (and a few sovereigns) getting my other beauty into shape.

To meet the need for speed, I got my Trek 2300 serviced and returned last week.  I replaced a well-worn chain.  And I had the whole drive train serviced.  I also replaced the pedals with new SPD SL pedals.  [Note: Next time I do this, I won’t change pedals because I’m having some trouble getting accustomed to the new attachment system.  Hopefully, I’ll get it down before Wednesday.]   Almost as important, I was greeted with an excellent surprise last Friday: I had hit my pre-race weight loss goal.

So I hope that I am ready.  My goal is to get a top ten finish in the fifty-plus age bracket.  That goal is within reach.  But I do covet everyone’s prayers on the matter.  I always worry on group starts.  My eyes really do make a difference at the start.  And since the race is relatively short, a bad start may just doom my hopes.

But whatever happens, I am so glad that I am competing.  I am happy and healthy about the race.  And I’ll get points for the team no matter how I finish.  But I really do want to achieve my personal goal.  Pray that I can win the all important mental battle against my own doubts and fears.

-Roo

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

